Just Add Watercolor: Inspiration and Painting Techniques from Contemporary Artists

By Helen Birch

A fantastically illustrated, easy-to-navigate advisor to making modern watercolors, pairing full-page work with insights and suggestions for artists.
     Featuring 2 hundred of the simplest works of younger, sleek watercolor painters, paired with bite-sized portray information and artwork instruction, Just upload Watercolor gives aspiring artists entry to details about--and examples of--top paintings within the medium. Artist and teacher Helen Birch breaks down each one portray by way of innovations, subject material, and instruments, delivering paintings fanatics and painters with a one-stop source and gallery of the simplest that glossy watercolor has to provide. Its small trim measurement with one portray in keeping with unfold presents a daring, yet effortless replacement to conventional, process-heavy portray guide texts. Just upload Watercolor shines the highlight on featured work, whereas nonetheless giving readers all of the insights had to start portray during this renowned medium.

Show description

Quick preview of Just Add Watercolor: Inspiration and Painting Techniques from Contemporary Artists PDF

Best Painting books

Caravaggio's Secrets (October Books)

Many critics have explored the homoerotic message within the early pictures of the baroque painter Michelangelo Caravaggio (1573-1610). In Caravaggio's secrets and techniques, Leo Bersani and Ulysse Dutoit emphasize as a substitute the impenetrability of those snap shots. the stress among erotic invitation and self-concealing retreat leads Bersani and Dutoit to finish that the curiosity of those works is of their illustration of an enigmatic deal with that solicits intimacy as a way to block it with a mystery.

Realism in the Age of Impressionism: Painting and the Politics of Time

The overdue 1870s and early Eighties have been watershed years within the background of French portray. As outgoing financial and social constructions have been being changed via a capitalist, measured time, Impressionist artists sought to create works which may be perceived right away, shooting the sensations of quickly remodeling smooth lifestyles.

What Painting Is

Not like many books on portray that sometimes speak about paintings or painters, James Elkins’ compelling and unique paintings specializes in alchemy, for just like the alchemist, the painter seeks to remodel and be remodeled via the medium. In What portray Is, James Elkins communicates the adventure of portray past the normal vocabulary of artwork historical past.

Watercolor Painting For Dummies

Have you been surprised by means of watercolor work that appear to spring to existence sooner than your eyes? may you're keen on with the intention to paint with watercolors? Now, you could. Watercolor portray For Dummies exhibits you the joys and simple method to create breathtaking work so attractive you won’t think you made them your self.

Additional resources for Just Add Watercolor: Inspiration and Painting Techniques from Contemporary Artists

Show sample text content

Org Watercolor societies continually attempt to hunt down good-quality watercolor paintings. recognized societies are frequently a great position to begin. American Watercolor Society fb. com/AmericanWatercolor Royal Watercolor Society royalwatercoloursociety. co. uk/members. aspx displaying and promoting you'll be convinced sufficient to begin displaying and promoting your paintings, during which case, the web is an efficient position to begin. you might want to additionally think of coming into your paintings into competitions. Behance behance. net/search? field=48&tools=8917 Etsy etsy. com/market/watercolor Saatchi on-line saatchiart. com/buy-art/for-sale? query=watercolor individuals Ana Montiel: anamontiel. com Anne Smith: bm1. four, bm1. 6 annesmith. web Arthur Kvarnstrom: 1. 30, bm1. 01 arthurkvarnstrom. com Becca Stadtlander: 2. forty, 2. forty six, 2. forty eight, 2. fifty one beccastadtlander. com Betsy Walton: 6. eighty four, 6. 86 morningcraft. com Blanca Gómez: cosasminimas. com Cate Edwards: flickr. com/cate_edwards Cathy McMurray: cathymcmurray. com Charlene Liu: charlene-liu. com Dadu Shin: dadushin. com Daniela Henríquez Fernández: flickr. com/danielahenriquez David Hornung: 2. 38, 2. fifty five davidhornung. com Ekaterina Koroleva: ekaterina-koroleva. de Eleni Kalorkoti: 1. 21, 2. forty three elenikalorkoti. com Eleonora Marton: eleonoramarton. com Elissa Nesheim: 6. eighty one, 6. 87 elissasue. com Elizabeth Baddeley: ebaddeley. com Elizabeth O’Reilly: elizabethoreilly. com Emily Watkins: emily-watkins. co. united kingdom sensible Fox (Matt La’Mont): thefunctionalfox. com Gabby Malpas: gabbymalpas. com Georgiana Paraschiv: gpdsn. com Hatsuki Miyahara: hacco. hacca. jp Helen Dealtry: wokinggirldesigns. com Helen Hallows: helenhallows. com Holly Exley: 1. 07, 1. 17 hollyexley. com Itsuko Suzuki: fm1. 1, five. seventy two itsukosuzuki. com Jeannie Phan: jeanniephan. com Jennifer Davis: 6. eighty, 6. eighty three jenniferdavisart. com Joanna Goss joannagoss. com Julie Van Wezemael: julievanwezemael. blogspot. co. united kingdom Junyi Wu: half One, five. seventy four junyiwu. com Kamilla Talbot: kamillatalbot. com Karen Barbour: karenbarbour. com Kasia Breska: pencilboxgirl. blogspot. com Kate Pugsley: katepugsley. com Kaye Blegvad: kayeblegvad. com Kelly Puissegur: 6. eighty two, 6. 88 retrowhale. com Koen Lybaert: u-cover. com/paintings Kotryna Žukauskaitė: kata-illustration. com Leah Goren: leahgoren. com Liam Howard: liam-howard. blogspot. co. united kingdom Lieke van der Vorst: liekeland. nl Loui Jover: 1. 04, 1. 08 louijover. tumblr. com Lourdes Sanchez: lulisanchez. com Luka Va: luk. lt surfingsloth. com. au Madara Lukjanoviča: etsy. com/shop/madareli Marcus Oakley: four. sixty five, four. sixty nine marcusoakley. com Marina Molares: marinamolares. com Misato Suzuki: alittlepainter. com Monica Ramos: monramos. com Nadja Gabriela Plein: nadjagabrielaplein. co. united kingdom Natasha Newton: natasha-newton. co. united kingdom Nicholas Stevenson: 2. forty four, 2. fifty three nicholasstevenson. com Nikki Painter: nikkipainter. com Nuria Mora: nuriamora. com Patrick Boehner: patrickboehner. com Paul Bailey: paulbaileyart. co. united kingdom Peggy Wolf: peggywolf. com Sandra Dieckmann / Jamie generators: sandradieckmann.

Download PDF sample

Rated 4.90 of 5 – based on 15 votes